I'm Starting to Feel Okay Vol. 6 - 10 Years Edition


With a versatile artist roster consisting of producers such as Henrik Schwarz, Lawrence, DJ Sprinkles, DJ Jus-Ed, Kuniyuki, Eddie C, Roedelius, or new kids on the blog such as Barnt or Lord Of The Isles, Japan-based Mule Musiq has developed a reputation for being one of the most free-spirited organizations in contemporary music. The label's mastermind Toshiya Kawasaki celebrates 10 years of freedom to do as he pleases with the sixth installment of his famed I'm Starting to Feel Okay compilation series. This volume is a 2CD with 24 tracks -- all totally exclusive and they will stick to you like your feet on a linoleum floor flooded by a bottle of Coke. The first CD lifts off with a short but extra-smart track by Matt Karmil, an Englishman in Cologne whose house music loops in your head forever, just like the other house-leaning tracks by the likes of the Hamburg natives Lawrence and Julius Steinhoff, new Berliner Eddy C, Amsterdam's Tom Trago, or Sweden's always-smiling seducer Axel Boman. There are also some cosmic, more disco-related tunes by artists such as legendary Italian disco icon Daniele Baldelli and his compatriot Marco Dionigi, who spread some catchy deepness. Whereas the first CD is dedicated to more warm atmospheres, the second one grooves in a darker, more melancholic direction. JD Twitch opens the second CD with a dark, futuristic roller with a bewitching vocal sample of the mysterious Noviciat De Soeurs Missionaires De Notre-Dame D' Afrique & Four Religious Drummers. There are also long-time Mule Musiq-related artists such the Japanese producer KZA, the Spanish house master Eduardo De La Calle, producer DJ Jus-Ed, or Kuniyuki, one of the finest Japanese producers at the frontier of classic, jazz, house, ambient, and electronic songwriting, grooving down the gloomy way -- sometimes in a strictly sexy house outfit, sometimes as a dub-loving loop-jazz sensation, or as a jazz bass-driven tribal stepper. Between them are new faces like German house rookie Johannes Brecht, Swedish leftfield/experimental producer Porn Sword Tobacco, or Naum Gabo, the Glasgow-based duo consisting of Jonnie Wilkes and James Savage. This compilation is an international anniversary celebration that reflects all that has happened in electronic music for the past 10 years, in order to form something that travels directly into the future.